Summer 2017 Goals

Summergoals

Hi friends!

First, Happy Memorial Day! I want to take a moment to thank the fearless men and women who have given the ultimate sacrifice for our country. 

I am a planner through and through. I will plan anything and everything as early as possible, and I hate to procrastinate. Here’s a list of goals I have for this summer (some are fun, some are boring) – enjoy!

Get on a budget. Omar and I have started the process this month, in hopes we will have it completely figured out once we are married and have joint bank accounts. I’m sure I’ll talk about this more at another time, but we’ve got a lot to review! For the next two months, we will be making a discretionary budget and spending how we normally would. We’ll review our spending in early August and decide what we can cut/where we needed more money etc, etc. Then, starting in August, we will make a much more detailed plan (our goal is eventually to get to a zero dollar budget!), and start planning a method to pay off our student loans and Omar’s car early, and to buy a house.

Honestly, this process is exhausting. We’ve been talking money so much lately that sometimes I feel like my head is spinning BUT I know this will all be more than worth it.

Bridal Shower/Bachelorette Weekend. I’m so excited for both of these! My bachelorette weekend will be in Asheville in mid-August, and my bridal shower will, more than likely, be soon after that. I’m so excited to spend time with some of the most important people in my life!

Go to the beach, at least for a day. We went to the beach earlier this month, but I really hope we can make it at least once this year during the  “summer” It would be even better if we could take Sadie – she’s never been to the beach.

Saying “yes” to more things/finding free stuff to do in the area. One thing Omar wants to do is to get out more. Which I obviously agreed to. But we are also trying to save money, so we are trying to find free things to do this summer (or they can be inexpensive!). We already had a friend tell us about free movie Friday’s downtown, where they show a movie outside, so that’s definitely on the list. We also went to the Freedom Balloon Fest (which is where the picture above is from!), which was free.

Read one book a month. This is pretty self-explanatory.

Keep up with my Powersheets. It’s no mystery that I am a huge fan of Powersheets. Overall, I can keep up with them, sort of. I’m really bad about keeping up with my daily goals! So I’m hoping to work on that this summer.

Go on a picnic with Omar. When we first moved to Raleigh, my grandmother and mom gave me a picnic basket. Three years later, it still hasn’t been used, and I’m hoping to change that this year.

What are your summer goals? I’d love to hear them!

 

Leave a Reply

