Boone weekend

Last weekend, I got to spend the weekend in Boone, NC! This is where I went to college, and where my two oldest friends, Julie and Alura, still live (we’ve known each other for 19 years – since we were 6!). It was the perfect way to end my birthday week (my birthday was June 19).

I got there Friday afternoon and we went to dinner and hung out at their house. It was a low-key afternoon.

Saturday, we woke up and Julie made breakfast! Then we decided to venture to Elk Knob State Park. I’ve never been, but it was beautiful. We almost turned around and decided not to go because it was raining, but it ended up clearing up for the post part. It was still pretty foggy, but the temperature was perfect. It’s a 1.9 ascent to the top and is pretty steep, but the views are awesome:

IMG_0151IMG_0153IMG_0155IMG_0157IMG_0223IMG_0224

I definitely want to go again! Omar and I have a goal to visit all of the NC State Parks together, so I will definitely be back. Next time, hopefully it will be sunny.

After Elk Knob, we decided to go to Cascade Falls on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It’s a much shorter hike, but still beautiful.

IMG_0180IMG_0201

The photo above is Alura’s dog, Daisy, who we brought with us while Alura was working. I wish I would have gotten more photos of the waterfall, but it was beautiful.

We then went back to Julie and Alura’s house to get ready. We decided to go to Cobo for dinner (which, I know what you’re thinking – seafood in the mountains?! But it’s so good. My favorites are the New Yorker, The Appalachian, and Going Green.)

IMG_0221

After Cobo, we went to Appalachian Mountain Brewery ,which is a staple if you are visiting Boone. They had a live performance while we where there.

IMG_0204

And then we ended the night dancing at Portofino’s, another local place in Boone that I visited all the time in college.

Sunday, we woke up and went to Sunrise Grill,  which is one of my favorite breakfast places ever (I might be a bit biased because Alura works there, but still it’s delicious). And then I packed up and made the 3 hour drive back to Raleigh.

I LOVE going to Boone so much. It’s probably my favorite place to visit ever. It always brings back college memories. Julie, Alura, and I all used to live in Boone, then I moved, and Julie is starting an internship in another town so Alura will be the only one left.

Leave a Reply

